Happiness

There are lots of things that make me happy and today “happiness is tea and cake”. Happiness is also joining the T Gang, as T stands for Tuesday, to chat and catch up on what everyone’s been up too – Happy T Day!

happiness-ajp2

I started by blending three colours of Winsor & Newton watercolour paint to create a pink/purple hue and applied it to the page using a baby wipe. Then I stamped a doily image using Seedless Preserves Distress Ink, which gave a lovely richness to the page. The little rose outlines are a stamp from Royal & Langnickel which I stamped using Memento Ink. I added the paper doilies at the edges of the page using a UHU Stic and embellished them using lace trim and buttons. The teapot, teacup and saucer and cakes are rub-on transfers, which I enhanced using Spectrum Aqua markers and a Uni Pin marker. Lastly I stamped the words using Archival Ink and coloured them using Spectrum Aqua markers, choosing colours to compliment the transfer images.

cakes

My hubby kindly treated me to an Iced Vanilla Custard Slice, which is two layers of puff pastry filled with a single layer of creamy thick vanilla custard and covered with icing – these ones had a beautiful yellow feathered icing pattern on the top. It’s a real teatime indulgence and so yummy – they have to be one of my all time favourites!stamps

Last week our local craft store had a new stock of discounted stamps, which of course I had to buy and put to use straight away in this journal page. Actually I used only two of the ones I purchased and as you can see I have quite a few more to add to my collection. Now I have a bit of a dilemma – how do I store and catalogue my stamps?  I like things organised so my goal is to know which stamps I have and how to locate them easily – please can you help me with any tips and share your experience of how to do this. Any suggestions are very welcome and gratefully received – thank you!

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Winsor & Newton Cotman Watercolour (Crimson 515, Payne’s Gray 465, Ultramarine 663)
  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Seedless Preserves)
  • Memento Dye Ink (Lulu Lavender)
  • Range Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Spectrum Aqua Artist’s Marker (Red Violet, Gold, Slate)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line Marker (Black 0.1mm)
  • Papermania block mounted crafting Rubber stamp (Doily PMA 1029)
  • Royal & Langnickel Clear Choice stamps (Ornate Scrollwork MIN-CCS123)
  • Docrafts Papermania 4×4 clear stamps (Bellissima – Alphas PMA907212)
  • Docrafts A5 clear stamp set (Alphas Folk DCE907115)
  • Dovecraft Floral Muse (Paper Doilies DCDLS004)
  • Royal & Langnickel Rub-on Transfers (Romantic Tea #PAR-244 Rub-on)
  • Lace trim
  • Buttons
  • UHU Stic
  • Zig Memory System 2-Way Glue (The Dual Action Glue Pen)
  • Ranger Glossy Accents
29 thoughts on “Happiness

  1. Oh, I adore your tea journal page!!
    I have tried a couple different storage ideas, for stamps over the years. Now I have hundreds, and that is after I have weeded out the ones that were truly dead and wouldn’t make a mark anymore. I have them in 9″ x 8″ x 2″ binders and a couple of skinnier ones…..I tried the larger ones….they became too heavy.
    I laminated 5″ x 7″ card stock…….the clear stamps will cling to it and then slide them into clear sheet protectors. Each binder is labeled. I also pulled all, well almost all, my “rubber” stamps off the blocks….down to the rubber, then thinned down Tack It Over and Over, brushed it on the back and they also stick to the laminated sheets. If you email me, I’ll send you some photos…if you want to SEE how I did it.

    Happy T-day

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Krisha! Your stamps sound very organised, thanks for your tips and ideas – it is much appreciated :-). The photos will be very useful so I will contact you by email as suggested. Thanks again and wishing you a Happy T day! J 🙂

      Like

  2. Tea and cake are decadent. The spread you created in your journal is gorgeous. I especially like the darling petit fours. And that matching tea pot and cup/saucer are beautiful. They make a perfect T day entry.

    I don’t have many stamps, but I keep all LIKE stamps together, whether they are wood mounted (which I prefer) or clear, or unmounted rubber. Then if I’m looking for a flower or a bird or a background, I know exactly where to go. It works for me because I personally don’t care who made my stamps, but you may want to choose a different way in case you want to keep all yours in the same container.

    Thanks for sharing both your incredible art AND your gorgeous vanilla custard and tea with us for T this soon to be Tuesday.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks very much Elizabeth! I just fell in love with the little cakes and tableware and bought them with T Day in mind. Your suggestions are very helpful and much appreciated, it seems putting LIKE stamps together is a shared practice amongst us all :-). Wishing you a very Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  3. Your journal page is fantastic, love the stamps, colours, everything about it. And as for the real tea and cake – well, I want some NOW!!!! (perhaps not the tea, just the cake!) Storage is also a problem, I have too many stamps and have various storage systems, but they are all rather chaotic – luckily I still manage to remember where thy are. Happy T Day, hugs, Valerie

    Liked by 1 person

  4. not sure if i can really help you, as i have thousands of stamps and the System is actually in my mind mostly;) some are sorted by theme, some by Company – and then there are mounted and unmounted ones (because of lesser space… i only Mount them temporarily with removable glue roll-on onto acrylic blocks). what i really do is keeping track of them in Computer files, so i very seldom bought the same motif twice;)
    beautiful page you made: i really like These doilies!!
    happy t-day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! That’s very helpful, I like the idea of keeping track of them in Computer files so I can view them easily :-). I’ve been looking for another doily stamp and some paper diolies for a while and really like how they turned out on this page :-). Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  5. I do so agree about tea and cake, the custard slice looks very delicious.
    Its a wonderful journal page the setting looks welcoming with the pretty china.
    I would be the wrong one to ask about storage. When I am tidy I cannot find anything, yet things seem ready to hand when the table looks a mess.
    Happy T Day.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Many thanks Yvonne! It’s so funny, I can be really messy when I’m creating a journal page too :-). When I have finished though I like to put everything away, it gives me peace … lol. Thanks again and wishing you a Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  6. Tea and cake makes me very happy too. And stamps! I have too many:) Can there be such a thing? I have a few plastic bins which I organize by general theme. I think you’ll be having a lot of fun-and I am loving your latest page. I love the feeling it gives me. It makes me want a big cup of tea-I will make one once I get to work. 🙂 Happy T day Jo. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks a lot Erica! Yes these are all things that make me happy and smile too :-). I don’t think you can have too many stamps … lol. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, it is much appreciated – it looks like the general theme is a very popular way of storing stamps and makes complete sense to me :-). Wishing you a Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  7. What a beautiful page Jo! And a great haul – super!
    I am like Yvonne the completely wrong person to give advices in stamp supply organization. I have some in every free place here..at the beginning I organized the EZ Mounted rubber in binders ..that was nice but I am too lazy to always put them in the same place after using – that’s too boring..so I put all the ones that I really like in one big plastic container..and that’s it for me.. I find what I am looking for..and while searching for a special one I get others between my fingers and a new inspiration comes ..so my unorganized stamps are a great inspiration always for me!!!
    Thank you for your always so nice comments – I much appreciate this Jo!
    Happy T-Day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks very much Susi! It’s funny how we are all different and you are so right, I never thought of that, I gain inspiration from looking through my stamps too! Thank you for taking the time to reply to my dilemma, it’s much appreciated, I am sure with all the feedback I’ll have a super system in the end. Wishing you a very happy T day! J 🙂

      Like

  8. delightful tea and cake art and your pastry looks divine-almost like a French pastry called a Napoleon. What a collection of new stamps!! I have thousands of stamps-mounted and unmounted and foam ! The mounted are in large clear labeled bins by categories. The unmounteds are in clear page protector sleeves. I really should do as Krisha did and take them off the wood for better space and organization but that would take forever to do! Happy T day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Linda! I’m so excited about my new stamps and really appreciate you sharing your system. I like the idea of keeping :
      ~ the stamps in catagories, this seems very popular and therefore must work well
      ~ the unmounted stamps in clear protective sleeves and in binders as they would be easier to locate
      Thanks again and wishing you a Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  9. I just love the bright pops of yellow on your artjournal page Jo! Thank you so much for your kind comments on my post today. Storing my stamps will be an issue for me too one day as my craftroom gets finished… it will be interesting to see what you come up with… Happy happy tday! Hugs! deb

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Deb and you are very welcome! Everyone has been so helpful sharing the way they store their stamps, it’s been so exciting and interesting to find out the systems everyone uses :-). I’m so excited for you and your craftroom – we finished our craftroom this year, it was so much fun deciding the layout, painting and pulling it all together :-). I love it and appreciate all our hard work every time I go in there :-). Wishing you a Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  10. Sorry I have missed so many of your posts Jo – I hope all is well at your end of the world.
    Yes – happiness is tea and cake – and I love what you have created 🙂 and your vanilla custard slice looks soooo yummy. I’m wishing I could reach in and pinch a bit – but I won’t, because as I am typing this, Dave is kitchen making custard to go with the ginger and Kahlua cake he has made 🙂
    Love your new bargain stamps and will look forward to see how your storage goes…. mine is sort of organised chaos and I can’t say what’s best way. I have been stamping since about 1994 so you can imagine how many I have – both mounted and unmounted.
    I too have started to take some off the wooden blocks to try and save space..
    I originally stored them in numbered boxes and then stamped the images and noted what box they were in and kept info in an A4 ring binder,,, but recently I haven’t kept that up to date. Also lately the unmounted ones I’ve been keeping in those thin A4 plastic box/folders, sort of theming them. I generally can find what I want (mostly ha ha)
    Gill xx

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Puff pastry and vanilla custard OH MY!!!
    I was here the other day and something happened that I never got to comment.
    My mouth has been watering ever since.
    Perfectly lovely decorated tops too YUM! who could resist!
    Everything goes better with cake 😉
    Sweet page you created with some of your great new rubber stamps.
    I have reeled myself in the last few years as I accumulated SO many stamps of all kinds.
    Mr M put some wooden IKEA silverware trays/dividers on the wall and I enjoy some of my wood mounted stamps there BUT there are so many I have them in plastic salad bins (we ate a lot of salad to get so many bins LOL!) Some of the rubber cling material that I purchased has had oozing stickiness issues so I am not thrilled with how some of those stamps have done over the years and I stored them very carefully too in binders laying nice and flat.
    Over the years I have gotten away from card making where I first started rubber stamping and moved to a messier grunge style so I find unmounted stamps can be used without backing. This works because I am not concerned with precise stamped images.
    That said I would like to get back to card making again.
    Have fun Jo.
    Collecting stamps is an adventure.
    oxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Patty! Love “Everything goes better with cake” – it really made me smile! Thanks for sharing your stamp storage system with me, it’s really helpful and it sounds like you have loads of stamps :-). I would love to see the cards you create :-). I make birthday cards and plan to make Christmas cards this year too. Hope you are having a lovely week! J 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

