Smartie Time

One of the earliest memories from school is ‘Smartie Time’ and it always brings a smile to my face. This was when I was in Infants School so I must have been 5 or 6 years old. Smartie Time took place every Friday and each pupil in the class received a little cup of Smarties (here in the UK they are sugar-coated chocolate confectionery – similar to M&M’s) and the teacher would take us through the letters that we had learned during the week. Smarties are synonymous with letters of the alphabet due to the packaging having letters on it, so I suppose they linked in well to our learning at school. You could be called a Smartie if you remembered them all too. I’m very pleased to be able to join this month’s theme of “Back to School” being hosted by Bleubeard and Elizabeth over at Art Journal Journey – thanks for the inspiration!

smartie-time-ajp

I covered the background with a thin layer of white acrylic using a baby wipe and then stamped blocks of the alphabet using Memento ink. To do this I formed the wood mounted letter stamps into a block pattern and held them in place with elastic bands before inking and stamping them. Smarties always came in a box at school rather than the usual tubes so I created a box shape out of Smarties packaging and some blue paper. I fussy cut the word Smartie and added letter stickers to another piece of blue paper for the word “Time”, then I used double-sided foam tape to stick them all onto the box. I stuck on additional sweet images using a UHU Stic and edged the box with a Navy Spectrum Aqua Marker and secured it to the page using double-sided foam tape. Next I stamped the slogan “Only Smarties have the answer” using Archival Ink, and added the balloon images and flowers which are stickers and were chosen to match the colours of the sweets themselves. The letters and numbers are gel stickers which I arranged in a wave like pattern on the page. The hexagonal shapes which detail a letter and question are from the top of the new Smarties packaging – you will find the answers to the questions somewhere on the page too (Clue – the answers are always on the packaging somewhere). I like that it turned out so colourful and fun!

Here are the questions if you can’t read them (and the answers are detailed below too):

  • What K do you boil water in?
  • What N is a short sleep?
  • What G is a place to keep cars?

smarties

To create this page I bought some Smarties to use the packaging, well it might have actually been for the chocolate too! Needless to say we enjoyed eating them whilst I completed my page! A number of things have changed about Smarties over the years, they used to come in a cylinder-shaped tube which had a plastic disc lid. After the Smarties were all gone it made a neat toy as you could “karate-chop” the tube to fire the lid across the room – I loved the popping sound of the plastic lid and seeing how far it went! Smarties no longer come in this packaging and the colours have changed too – there are now blue Smarties which I never had at school. If you want to learn more about Smarties and their history, which actually date back to 1937, here’s a link.

(The answers to the questions are – Kettle, Nap, Garage).

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Colvin & Co Artist Acrylic (White Titanium)
  • Memento Dye Ink (London Fog)
  • Range Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Spectrum Aqua Artist’s Marker (Navy)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line Marker (Black 0.1mm)
  • Uniball Signo gel pen (White)
  • Dovecraft lower case alphabet stamps (WDW Alpha Stamp DCVW0030)
  • Docrafts A5 clear stamp set (Alphas Folk DCE907115)
  • Leon (X-large Colour Paper Pad)
  • Home Bargains (Mini Gel Stickers 30287)
  • Wilko stickers (Flower Embellishments)
  • Home Bargains wall stickers (Fairy Door 34356)
  • Hobbycraft Laser Stickers (Letters 5681871002)
  • UHU Stic
  • Zig Memory System 2-Way Glue (The Dual Action Glue Pen)
  • The Range double-sided foam tape
  • Nestlé Smarties packaging
14 thoughts on “Smartie Time

  1. Now, why didn’t I think of buying smarties to make journal page!? A yummy idea, we all loved smarties as kids- and I am happy that I could answer the three questions! Another fantastic project for AJJ, with so many lovely details. Top marks for you again, and thanks for joining us! Have a fun weekend, hugs, Valerie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh Valerie, you always make me smile – I haven’t had Smarties for years and they were so yummy so I think you best go and treat yourself to some very soon :-). Thanks so much for your comments today! Have a fun weekend too! J 🙂

      Like

  2. The Smarties I know here in the states are a sour/tart candy that comes in a roll.
    Haven’t had one in ages.
    Your chocolate Smarties sound yummy and what a sweet and fun page you created.
    Your “research” sounded like fun too.
    What we do for our art 😉
    Thank you for sharing your “sweet” memories and for the brain massage with the Q&A’s too.
    Wishing you a lovely start to the weekend dear Jo. oxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks very much Patty! I believe because of the copyright (of the sweets you described) our chocolate Smarties aren’t sold in America. It was so much fun doing the “research” and I’m glad you got all the questions right, you go to the top of the class and are now a honorary “Smartie” :-). Wishing you a lovely weekend! J 🙂

      Like

  3. What a fabulous idea for a page !
    Looks beautiful and fun !!!
    I loved Smarties as well but we hadn’t them at school…
    and I haven’t had one for years now! I once baked a coconut cake with choloate sprinkles and Smarties on top for a birthday Party as my daughter was in primary school, and one of the girls came to me and her eyes shone as she told me that this was the best in world ever cake!
    I will remember this forever! I bet that were just because of the Smarties!
    Thank you very much for such a lovely page and all the ideas you came up with this month for Art Journal Joureny Jo!
    Happy weekend!
    oxo Susi

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve never heard of Smarties, but I simply adore the journal page you created. This is an awesome entry for AJJ. I’m simply delighted you shared this entry with us, because once again, I learned something new. I’m also a Smartie, because I was able to answer all the questions before I saw the answers!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a great idea for a journal page, an excuse to buy chocolate sounds good to me. Its a fantastic page and lucky you having a treat at the end of the school week. .
    Have a good weekend.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Now your teacher had a really fun idea with Smartie time. I bet the kids really loved it. I think its cool you visited Maine. You made a bright and fun page about it too. 🙂 I love Maine and go there often as we live in the next state. I also went to college there and my husband is from Maine. Thanks for stopping by and visiting me so often. Have a great weekend. Hugs-erika

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks a lot Erica! I think all those in my class would remember Smartie Time, we loved it so much :-). Maine is such a wonderful place, we have friends that live there so visit from time to time and I really like this time of year with all the fall colours, pumpkin displays and wonderful pumpkin inspired food and drink treats on offer :-). Have a great weekend too! J 🙂

      Like

  7. I’m always amazed at the amount of detailed work you put into your art pieces, this was all fascinating to read. That’s a good tip about holding together the letters with an elastic band.
    It’s a super and fun colourful page. I didn’t know that Smarties don’t come in tubes now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much! It just had to be fun and colourful to match my feelings when I remember Smartie Time. I really liked creating this page as it was one of my earliest and fondest memories of school :-). Wishing you a happy weekend! J 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

