School Days

I recently discovered a piece of my school scarf that I had stored in a drawer along with a number of other keepsakes from my school days, so I decided to create this page. I’m pleased to be able to join Bleubeard and Elizabeth who is co-hosting this month’s theme of “Back to School” over at Art Journal Journey.

dsc_0222-copya

The background started with Distress Inks, which I applied to an acrylic block and spritzed with water then dripped onto the page and smooshed with a baby wipe. I found an old ink pen in my school pencil case, which hasn’t been used for many, many years. I dipped it into some water then flicked it onto the page to see if there was any life left in it – I love the colour of the ink and the splatters it created! I used Letraset transfers to add the title and letters, some of the letters are not complete, which I like as it gives it an old worn feel. I added a strip of decoupage paper down the centre of the page which depicts different ruler images and still thinking of the theme, I choose the “School” definition from my dictionary which is again from my school days. Next I added 3 clock toppers to depict time, I found time went really slowly when I was at school – did you? These were all stuck in place with a UHU Stic and I outlined them with a black Uni Pin marker. The attendance certificate is a vintage sticker from Tim Holtz Idea-ology collection. To finish I used Velcro to attach the piece of my school scarf, which has a white name tag that my mum sewed on all those years ago, and I also pinned my “Captain” badge onto it. I love that I have used so many elements from my school days to create this page!

jo

I was “Captain” of my class for a year and green was our assigned class colour; it was nice to be chosen to oversee my class and I remember being so happy to purchase my badge from the school shop.  This is where we used to collect our yearly school photo too, I always enjoyed school as you can tell from my photo above! I loved the colours and design of my school scarf and I only kept a piece of it because it’s made of wool and I would never wear it because I find it so itchy against my skin. I’m so pleased I created this page to display the scarf and badges rather than have them sitting in a drawer – I think they look fab!

school-items

Here are some items from my school days. My well loved and worn Hymn book which now sits on my bookcase, I remember using it every day at school assembly – I just loved to sing! My Recipe book which contains recipes from my cookery lessons at school such as scones and apple pie as well as a chart which converts degrees Fahrenheit to Centigrade – I still use this book today! My trusty Dictionary, I’ve never been very good at spelling and I remember taking it with me on my first day of Secondary School. I now use my dictionary for my Art Journaling and it has adorned many of my pages. And finally my favourite pencil case which is a bit faded now and was such a beautiful rich navy blue and green tartan. It is still in use today and amongst all the other pens, three fountain pens from my school days are safely stored. All these items bring back such happy memories!

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Tea Dye, Brushed Corduroy, Black Soot)
  • Waterman Fountain Pen and Ink
  • Uni Pin Fine Line Marker (Black 0.1mm and 0.8mm)
  • Uniball Signo gel pen (White)
  • Letraset Transfer (Helvetica Bold Condensed 5mm RDC0251)
  • Vivi Gade Decoupage Paper (Helsinki 25586)
  • Oxford University Press 1978 pocket dictionary
  • The Works (12 Paper Toppers)
  • Tim Holtz Idea-ology Salvage Stickers (Crowded Attic #TH92898)
  • UHU Stic
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • Velcro (Black Self-Adhesive)
  • The Range double-sided foam tape
  • School scarf and badge
17 thoughts on “School Days

  1. Your journal page is wonderful, and all the more so because it is so personal for you. Love the photo of you smiling, I loved school too. I gave my school scarf to my cousin when she went to the same school after I had left, but I still have – and wear my university scarf. Thanks for another great entry for ‘back to school’, have a good weekend, hugs, Valerie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Valerie! I’m really pleased with this page and it was a fun way to remember my school days :-). I was the youngest so got my sister’s school uniform, which was cool as she had the more vintage looking styles which I liked. Wishing you a happy weekend too! J 🙂

      Like

  2. AH, memories. Yours are so different from mine, yet there are many overlapping areas, too, like our love of vocal music. I so enjoyed this journal entry because it is so different from any we’ve had so far. I’ve never heard of the captain’s position, but I’m very impressed that you had it.

    Those dots of ink are fantastic the way they spread out in a very different color than the original dot. Great choice of accents, as were the rub-ons.

    So glad you could join in for AJJ this month because this is a very unique and warm memory.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Really lovely and special page you created Jo!
    The addition of precious mementos really adds to the charm.
    I am guessing you had school uniforms? and special scarves perhaps?
    Itchy would not be my favorite either.
    Cute school pic of you and you certainly do look happy.
    Fun to see your other treasures as well.
    Hope you’re having a great weekend Captain Jo ♥
    oxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Patty! Yes we had a very strict school uniform, even the socks were regulated! We had a winter and summer uniform too which included hats – a beret to wear with our scarf in the winter and in summer a boater (a hat made of stiff sennit straw and has a stiff flat crown and brim) :-). That’s probably why I really like wearing hats now … lol :-). Your last comment made me smile 🙂 so
      Thank ye, I be having a lovely weekend me hearty! Captain J 🙂

      Like

  4. This theme is bringing back so many memories to all of us. Imagine still having your old pens, you must be a lot younger. I never had any trouble making splatters on the page with these old pens. Interesting that you kept a small piece of your school scarf just to remind you.
    Your page is a real memory of your school days. I love the way you do this and the way you list all the supplies.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Somehow I missed this post:(. Glad I found it. You were a cute kid and I love seeing some of your actual school things. You page is fantastic too. We never had captains, but I wonder if it is like being class president. I am impressed. 🙂 I love how you added the real piece of your school scarf. Hope your week is starting off in a great way. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

