Homemade

I’m often in the kitchen baking and now September has arrived, I find myself busy again. I’ve been making Bramble Jelly to serve on scones, in rice pudding or on toast with peanut butter (my hubby’s favourite), as well as Plum Jam which is a fabulous filling for a Victoria Sponge. So I’ve created a journal page to celebrate this fruitful happy time.

homemade-ajp

To create the background I started by applying Liquitex acrylic paint with a baby wipe, then I used Memento Ink to stamp two butterfly images from Hampton Arts, a doily stamp from Dovecraft and a homemade stamp which creates a soft grid texture. The words are stamped using the same ink and refer to the jam and jelly I made.

jam-detail

I added the bunting next which are stickers and then used up some card toppers from my craft stash which link very well to the theme with the lovely little pot of jam detail and a Victoria Sponge recipe. The sign with home baked cakes and the saying “The diet starts tomorrow!” is cut from a retro style postcard. I also added the packaging from the kit that contained the sealing covers, waxed discs, rubber bands and labels which I used for my jam and jelly making. I fixed them all in place using a UHU Stic or double-sided tape and the addition of the red gemstones was the finishing touch.imag2116a

Every year we head out on our tandem to go blackberry picking, it’s so much fun, although you need to watch out for the thorns and nettles! This year we got two big tubs full of fruit to make into Bramble Jelly, which tastes superb – so fruity and delicious!

jam

Another yearly tradition is making plum jam with Victoria plums, which we buy locally from our favourite greengrocers.

20160729_205927a

Plum jam is a lovely filling for a Victoria Sponge cake, here’s one I made to celebrate the stash of preserves that we made. The sponges are filled with the plum jam and fresh cream and on the top is a sprinkling of icing sugar. As T Stands for Tuesday, I’m having a nice cup of tea with my cake and saying a big hello to all of the T Gang … Happy T Day!

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Liquitex Artist Color Acrylic (Parchment)
  • Memento Dye Ink (London Fog)
  • Hampton Arts 7 Gypsies cling mounted rubber stamps (Tropical Travelogue ICO134)
  • Dovecraft Curiosity Corner clear stamps (A5 Lace and Doilie DCCS009)
  • Dovecraft upper and lower case alphabet stamp set (WDN ALPHA STMP DCVW0050)
  • Homemade wooden block stamp with Plasterboard/Drywall tape
  • Home Bargains Wall Stickers (Fairy Door 34356)
  • Hunkydory Birthdays for Her Luxury Card Collection (Birthday Bake)
  • Hunkydory Magnificent Men Luxury Card Collection (Grill King & Nice Buns!)
  • Postcard (Retro Days original design by Martin Wiscombe)
  • Kitchen Craft packaging
  • Poundland (504 Gems)
  • UHU Stic
  • Express It double-sided tape
  • The Range double-sided foam tape
31 thoughts on “Homemade

  1. I love baking and making jelly. I’v never had bramble jelly, but I have picked raspberries and strawberries for jam before. Your jars of jam look fantastic. And that Victoria sponge looks so delicious. I would love a piece with my breakfast right now. (Maybe not good for breakfast but it would taste good:) ) Has your company left? Happy T day. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Erica! Victoria Sponge for breakfast, now there’s an idea :-). Our company has left now and we are getting back to normal – we have finally done all the odd jobs and housework so I can’t wait to get back to my art journaling again :-). Wishing you a Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  2. What a great art journal page, Jo. I am in awe that you recycled so many things to make this page. And of course, seeing the “fruits” of your labor (pun intended) made it all worthwhile, especially when you added tea to accompany the cake.

    Thanks for sharing your art, your bramble picking, and your cake and tea with us for T this Tuesday. This is marvelous!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I was planning on having a healthy day, but after reading your post I will be heading for some of my home mad jams to console me that I can’t taste yours, or that gorgeous Victoria sponge – yummy! Your journal page is wonderful, too, a great memento of your fruity marathon. Love the tandem, too. Have fun, hugs, Valerie

  4. I can see how much you love baking as much as you love making art Jo! Your page is really super. The jams look delicious as does your Victoria Sponge cake. The tandem bike looks like so much fun-wish we had one too:) Happy T day, and thanks for your earlier visit!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. With my internet problems, for some reason the only photo I can see id of your delicious jams. I did enjoy reading your post and will try catching the photos soon.
    Happy t day
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. We have canned once or twice…. and it was fun… We liked to do the plums from our plum tree and make into jelly…But thats enough for me… Too much work..lol All of yours looks absolutely yummy! I do miss blackberry picking…. we haven’t done that in years… i think we need to plant some bushes… hmmm… maybe the thornless variety..lo Hugs and Happy T day! deb

    • Blackberries taste wonderful and my poor fingers wish the wild variety were thornless … lol … my hubby had to remove 3 thorns from my hands when I got home :-). It was well worth it though I love Bramble Jelly on my yoghurt in the morning – yummy! Wishing you a very Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  7. Your page is wonderful and the touches of bunting add that certain something.
    The diet sign makes me giggle.
    You are a star in the kitchen too Jo!
    Wonderful pic of your husband with the berries.
    We haven’t been blackberry picking in years.
    Last time was when our middle son Alex was in a backpack munching on berries his dad picked.
    You are definitely making the most of nature’s bounty.
    Just the sound of “Victoria Sponge” is lovely and it looks gorgeous too.
    I am a big fan of The Great British Baking Show (hope I got the title right!).
    Total delight to watch it from the scenes of nature heading into the tent where the action is.
    Happy T Day… missed you and your creativity while I was unplugged for a bit. oxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • I missed you too Patty, I’m so glad you are joining us today and wishing you a very Happy T Day! We have had family staying and I’ve been a little unwell the last few days with flu type symptoms so I haven’t been posting as much as I normally do either. I’m looking forward to joining AJJ as soon as I can though :-). Yes I really enjoy The Great British Bake Off too, we watch it every week. I hope the home improvements are going well and I’m sending you happiness and wishes for a wonderful week! J 🙂

      Like

  8. What a happy post! I am well impressed! With your journal page as well as with your jam efforts. And that victoria sponge looks delish! Well done you! What fun to go out on a ‘bicycle made for two’. We go blackberry picking too (not on a tandem though), but the bramble jam I made was full of pips that got in between my teeth and I swore never to make it again. Now I’m thinking how I could make it again but sieve it. I don’t have a sieve fine enough and the cloth one I have only lets the liquid through. Oh well…. I’ll have to do some research.
    Happy T-Day,
    Lisca

    Liked by 1 person

    • The tandem is so much fun, I love it! The Bramble Jelly I make is sieved and is only the liquid, in fact it can be quite a messy affair – I use a mesh cloth like the one you have to line a sieve so all the pips are captured. I’ve added the recipe I use to my post – it may help with your research (I’ll also send it to you by email is I can). Wishing you a Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  9. I love blackberries, but I’ve never heard the “bramble” reference. Fun. We had a couple of rows of them in my backyard growing up, and always enjoyed them right off the bush as well as in the jam Mother made. I’m wondering if I can find plum jam in the store here, and I will definitely look. That cake looks very tasty 🙂 Happy T Tuesday!

  10. Oh my gosh Jo… your post makes my mouth watering… all this looks sooo delicious and makes me happy… I collected blackberries with my friend Herta some weeks ago. That was great fun and we got much , but I just made cake with mine and put the rest in the freezer. Hubby just likes one special brand of bought jam and my daughter mostly likes Nutella..so no need for jam here.
    I so loved Valerie’s orange jam and her special apple x-mas jam….
    My neighbour wants me to collect the rosehips in his garden and make jam with it.. but I think I am too lazy — but you inspire me a lot with your fantastic post!
    A great page – I love all about it – fantastic to go with all the photos and delicous things here!
    Happy T-Day !
    oxo Susi

  11. A new building development has meant the disappearance of our best blackberry picking place! I love how you were inspired to make this spread (sorry, page he!he! ) I love seeing those pots of jam and jelly! The cake looks delicious too. Hugs, Chrisx

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Bramble jelly is one of the best and we have lots of plums so thanks for the idea of making plum jam. What a nice post about baking and using the fruits of autumn. I like seeing the tandem too. Exercise and cake looking good.
    I also like the way your Art Journal pages reflect your Real Life activities and will serve as an artistic reminder later.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. finally my guests are back home again and i find the time for a belated t-day blog hop…

    oh please, can you Hand over some of this yummy looking jam (and of the cake, too)… i love this season of making eating reserves for the winter!

Leave a Reply

