Crab Friday

With family staying for the week, we decided to celebrate by having Friday’s special of “Crab and Chips” at the Queens in Lytham. We managed a dessert too – a yummy raspberry and white chocolate meringue with ice cream. We had such a wonderful time and the food was so amazing that I created a journal page to remember our visit.

fresh-crab-ajp

I started the background by covering one half of the page diagonally with “The Daily Catch” greaseproof paper that the restaurant serves their fish entrees on – our crab was served on a sheet just like it! (I cheekily asked for a clean one for my journal page). The other half of the page is covered with decoupage paper; I choose pink and white to match the raspberry and white chocolate meringue that I had. Both papers are stuck down using a UHU Stic and Liquitex matte gel medium. The blackboard pieces are made from a tag which I covered with a layer of black acrylic paint and then decorated and wrote on with a white gel pen, I used a UHU Stic and double-sided foam tape to fix them to the page. The meringue sign is a piece of white mixed media paper on which I stamped the wording using Memento Ink. The circle outline is a Spectrum Aqua Marker and once I had cut it out I fixed it to the page using a UHU Stic, then I added the sparkly pink hearts and a meringue which I created from a napkin. The restaurant name is taken from their leaflet which I stuck to the page using double-sided foam tape. The dot borders are stickers, as are the words, which remind me of the lovely time we had. To finish I used a UHU Stic to stick down the crab alongside the chip image and I added a black gemstone to the centre of the blackboard tag hole.

crab

The dressed crab and chips was incredibly popular and tasted so good – yum!  The newspaper design greaseproof paper alludes back to the old days when they wrapped fish and chips in old newspapers.

display

I spotted the meringues on this wonderful display as soon as I walked through the door. There is a choice of Strawberry, Lemon or Raspberry and White Chocolate.

meringue

The meringue was lovely and soft in the centre, and the raspberry swirls turned my tongue bright pink! It was drizzled in white chocolate and I was delightfully surprised to find lots of white chocolate chunks embedded in the meringue too – delicious!

beer-bat

The fun continues in this restaurant as they serve third of a pint glasses of beer in a cricket bat! It’s a great idea for those of us who like to try a variety of beers and can’t make up their mind; I shared this one with my hubby. From left to right the beers are Theakston’s Old Peculier, Caledonian Flying Scotsman and Caledonian Golden XPA. As T Stands for Tuesday, I’m saying a big hello to all of the T Gang … Happy T Day!

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Memento Dye Ink (Love Letter)
  • Spectrum Aqua Artist’s Marker (Scarlet)
  • DecoArt Crafter’s Acrylic (Black)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.1mm)
  • Uniball Signo gel pen (White)
  • Docrafts A5 clear stamp set (Alphas Folk DCE 907115)
  • Dovecraft upper case alphabet stamp set (WDN Alpha Stmp DCVW0050)
  • Poundworld DecoTime (Paper Patch DS9454)
  • The Works (Hang Tags)
  • Daler Rowney paper (Mixed Media 437 150 400)
  • Caspari Chatsworth Napkins (Peony)
  • The Works (12 Glitter Heart Stickers)
  • Poundland (Design Gems)
  • Sandylion Kelly Panacci Scrapbook Collection (Stitches & Borders KSCB102)
  • Greaseproof paper
  • Leaflet
  • UHU Stic
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • The Range double-sided foam tape
24 thoughts on “Crab Friday

    • Thanks Valerie and Susi! Yes I think we will need to go there again – they have a different special each day and apparently they do different flavoured donuts on Saturdays too! So tempting! Wishing you a Happy T Day and a great week together! J 🙂

      Like

  1. Oh My, book me a seat beside you for that delicious meal. Crab is a favourite of mine, I can almost taste it. Loved the journal page you made to remember the visit.
    Happy T Day.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never had crabs and chips but it looks yummy. Do you have to clean the crab or it it already cleaned and served in the shell? Nor have I had one of those raspberry meringues. They look interesting. I’d certainly try one. When I first saw your awesome page I wondered if you used the same deli sheet your crab came in. But I thought that might be rather messy. Glad you asked for a new one! Hope your having a good family visit. Hugs and Happy T Day. Erika

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Erica! The crab is served ready to eat, so it’s all clean and served in the shell :-). The server was quite surprised that I asked for a clean sheet and I was lucky that they were happy to oblige. Having a fab time with my family, I’m way behind though visiting my blog friends! Wishing you a Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  3. wow-I want to go with you next time-what wonderful looking food-and I’d even go for that dessert too! I love how you used the raspberry dessert color on your beautiful page. And I would have asked for a clean paper too:) Happy T day!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is the best of all journal pages as it will always remind you of your visit with all the details and yet looks so artistic too with all the colours and designs.
    Loved the way you included everything right down to the paper the food was served on. It sounds and looks like a wonderful meal. What a great idea to serve small glasses of the different beers.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You remind me of me. I was at a Mexican restaurant a few months ago where the chips came on greaseproof paper that had chilies all over it. I also asked for a clean sheet, and not only did I get ONE, but several sheets. I was so thrilled, too. It never hurts to ask, that’s for sure.

    I have never had crab in the shell before. I probably wouldn’t know how to remove it, especially if I had to use those tongs like they use for lobster legs. But I would certainly take the fries, and the presentation was over the top, too.

    I enjoyed seeing all that beer, but I would have passed on anything that wasn’t stout. I think I would have saved for the dessert, which looked out of this world.

    Thanks for sharing your journal page, as well as your lovely day at the Daily Catch with us for T this Tuesday.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. i love that you started your journa page with the diagonal Separation in two parts. really makes it interesting for the eyes!
    i´d love to share These beers with a Buddy, good to have a Variation this way!
    happy t-day, jo!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Yumm, that looks scrumptious! I’ve never had crab like that before and the meringue looks divine. As we are visiting the UK next month I immediately Googled the restaurant, but we are not going to Lancashire. Manchester is the furthest north we will be travelling. The small sampler beers looks very nice. Did you have a favourite?
    Thank you for the photo visit though. It certainly merited a journal page.
    Happy T-day,
    and a good week ahead,
    Lisca

    Liked by 1 person

  8. What fabulous place to eat! We know where to go when we finally get around to making a detour to the caravan via Lytham ( we keep saying we will – went via Clitheroe last week!) Your journal page is a wonderful tribute to somewhere that I’m betting will be getting some return visits! Hugs, Chrisx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

