I like Coffee, I like Tea

My family and friends always enjoy a cup of coffee; I don’t drink coffee myself but thought I would pay homage to this popular beverage by creating this page. I’m also saying a big hello to all of the T Gang because T Stands for Tuesday … Happy T Day!

I like coffee I like tea - AJP

I diluted Faber-Castell Big Brush marker ink with water and used it to paint brick shapes onto the page, gradually layering on more colour to shade the bricks. To add texture I stamped over the bricks with a stamp from Kaisercraft using the same Big Brush marker. Next I filled the area around the bricks with colour by painting Distress Ink which I diluted with water and then I stamped a leaf tile image over the top using the same ink. The different coffee drink names are stamped using Archival and Memento Inks and shaded using a slate Spectrum Aqua marker. To finish the background I splattered some black acrylic paint over the top. The page and cappuccino image borders are decoupage paper, which I stuck down using a UHU Stic. The cappuccino image is cut from a postcard which I bought from a local shop as I liked the retro look; I used double-sided foam tape to stick it to the page. To finish I cut hearts from a brochure using a paper punch, fussy cut the cup of coffee from a magazine and added the images of pastries from a card topper set.

20160829_111620a

Cappuccino is my Mum’s coffee of choice when we go out. At our local café it’s always served with a cinnamon biscuit, which she kindly gives to me – yum!

20160904_122252a

As we have family staying with us this week, we went to Alices Tearooms again over the weekend and sat outside in the sunshine, near the “Painting the roses red” rose bushes. Our guest had this very pretty Mocha!

When I think of coffee, a certain song pops into my head and always makes me smile! Maybe you have heard of it … it’s called “The Java Jive” and is also known as “I like coffee, I like tea”. The only bit of the song that I know is …

 “I love coffee, I love tea

I love the java jive and it loves me

Coffee and tea and the jiving and me

A cup, a cup, a cup, a cup, a cup!”

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Tim Holtz Distress Inks (Cracked Pistachio)
  • Memento Dye Ink (London Fog, Rich Cocoa)
  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Faber-Castell Big Brush Pitt artist pen (Sanguine 188 B)
  • Spectrum Aqua Artist’s Marker (Slate)
  • Liquitex Artist Color acrylic (Ivory Black)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.1mm)
  • Uniball Signo gel pen (White)
  • Kaisercraft clear stamps (Sketchy CS878)
  • Rubber Soul wood mounted stamp (Leaf Tile 276K)
  • Papermania 2 pack A-Z clear stamps (Leftover Alphabet PMA9071102)
  • Tonic Studios Paper Punch (Classic Heart 858E)
  • Hunkydory Magnificent Men Luxury Card Collection (Grill King & Nice Buns!)
  • Poundworld DecoTime (Paper Patch D59454)
  • Postcard “Retro Days” series from the original design by  Martin Wiscombe
  • UHU Stic
  • The Range double-sided foam tape

 

16 thoughts on “I like Coffee, I like Tea

  1. A fantastic tribute page, I’m a tea person but do enjoy the an occasional coffee. those photos looked very tempting. I remember that song you wrote about, so guess whats humming in my head now.
    happy T Day.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t heard that song in a long time, and I only know know he first few lines too, but now its in my head. 🙂 Love your coffee piece . I don’t drink coffee either but so many people do. You guests must have loved that tea room. I think I would like to go to a place like that. Hope you are enjoying your visitors. Happy T day too. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a loving tribute to those of us who prefer coffee over tea. Although I’ll gladly drink tea on Tuesday, my drink of choice is coffee. You have created a simply super page and cappuccino is a real treat I never get here. Looks like you spoiled your guest, too.

    I think I’ve heard that song before, but not sure. It certainly has a definite ring to it.

    Thanks for sharing your mother’s cappuccino and your guest’s mocha with us, as well as your incredible art journal page with us for T this Tuesday.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A wonderful page Jo!*****

    And that song is made for me since I love coffee as well as tea – I have to take decaf since the coffeine makes me just so nervous and sleepless – if I drink just one cup of coffee in the morning or one cup of cola I get extremly nervous —the same with coke.
    If I have to do taxi drive service in the night for my daughter to bring and take her home from the disco I just have to take a cup of coffee or coke in the late evening and am awake the whole night….once I took a tin of an energy drink –my gosh – I was on 200 till the next day on 10 o’clock in the morning.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great coffee tribute! I like coffee all ways:) Thought I remembered that song but the lines I remember as a kid were different…”I like coffee, I like tea, I like the boys and the boys like me” :):) Happy T day!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Fun listening to that tune which was one I’d never heard before (different pronunciation of Java too!). I enjoy both tea and coffee. Weekends I enjoy a nice cappuccino.
    Nice custom in Europe with the treats they include which is the perfect little something!
    Your page is yummy and does Java very fine justice dear Jo!
    Happy T Day to you oxo
    p.s. Lovely to imagine you and your guests sitting in the sun by the special roses! Alice has it all going on ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jo those coffees look absolutely scrumptious! I seem to remember that song… i think …. What a great job you did on the artjournal page. Especially since you don’t care for coffee….lol ! Happy happy tday! Hugs! deb

    Liked by 1 person

  8. what a wonderful coffee page! i like how you built up the Background in These decent shades. nice items added. and perfect for me: i like coffee in each Variation: Hand brewn, Cappuccino, Espresso, latte macchiato…
    have a great week, jo!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Thanks for sharing your mother’s cappuccino and your guest’s mocha with us, as well as your incredible art journal page with us for T this Tuesday. Happy T Tuesday 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

