Alices Tearooms

What’s better than “A Very Merry Un-birthday” treat at Alices, a local tearoom that is themed around the book ‘Alice in Wonderland’. Alices is truly a place of wonder and magic, so I just had to create a journal page to celebrate our visit. I’m also saying a big hello to all of the T Gang over at T Stands for Tuesday … Happy T Day!

New Image 1

The page is covered with a thin layer of napkin, which I stuck to the page using Liquitex matte gel medium making sure to crinkle and crease it as I went along. I diluted some Distress Inks and applied them onto the napkin allowing the ink to be absorbed so it took on a patchy effect – a bit like spilt tea. Next I stamped curly leaf images, hearts and crowns using black Archival Ink to fit the Alice in Wonderland theme. I ripped and aged the blue paper (a colour that is similar to Alice’s dress) to give it a vintage look, adding a lace border of decorative tape. The cake image is a topper, which I thought fitted the theme beautifully. I collected the tearoom’s business card when we visited as I loved the logo writing.  I distressed the card edges using scissors and ink, then along with the topper stuck it to the page using double-sided foam tape. The butterflies and clock are outline stickers which I coloured black with a Sharpie marker. To finish I added the pearls and lots of sparkle with heart-shaped and square gemstones.

tea room

Alices is an amazing tearoom! It’s filled with so much fun and imagination!

Dresser

The tearoom is so beautifully decorated – don’t you just love this wonderful old dresser?

Sky and hat

I love the blue sky and clouds on the ceiling and the top hat lamp shade.

Light

There is detail everywhere; even the chandelier is made from teacups!

cakes

And then there are the cakes – yum! We had a bacon butty followed by Black Forest Cake (2nd from the right). They were scrumptious!

tea

And of course you can’t have cake without a nice pot of tea! Our choice, as always, is Green tea.

Thanks for joining me today! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Tim Holtz Distress Inks (Tea Dye, Shabby Shutters)
  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Sharpie Permanent Fine Line Marker (Black)
  • Hampton Arts 7 Gypsies cling mounted rubber stamps (Birdsong ICO151)
  • Hampton Arts Doodlebug Design cling mounted rubber stamps (Borders ICO160)
  • Craft Sensations Design Pad (Endless Love CRO260)
  • Hunkydory Birthdays for Her Luxury Card Collection (Birthday Bake)
  • Home Bargains Self-Adhesive Tape (Pretty Lace 22760)
  • Hobbycraft Outline Stickers (Silver Mixed Butterfly 5933961000)
  • Outline Stickers (Time Silver 904935)
  • Home Bargains stickers (Pearl Gem Stone)
  • Hobbycraft gem stones (Black & White Frame Adhesive Gem Design 5665551000, Assorted Pink Square Sticker Strip 5971461001)
  • The Range (Shaped Gem Stickers CR0521)
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • The Range double-sided foam tape
  • Paper napkin
  • Business Card
31 thoughts on “Alices Tearooms

  1. What a fun and pretty journal page, and I would so love to visit Alice’s – but do they serve coffee, too?! Love all their decorations, including the chandelier and the top hat light shade, so many fun and fantastic ides. Happy T Day, hugs, Valerie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OH MY ALICES looks positively magical and so pretty too.
    That tea cup chandelier ooh la laa!
    Yummy treats there as well.
    I am sure it is a fun place to visit often.
    Your collage is just perfect with how you used the black graphics to play off of the tea room’s business card. All so very delightful dear Jo!
    Happy T Day oxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Patty! It was very magical, there was so much to see and the theme was very beautifully done! I even bought a china ‘White Rabbit’ to hang on my Christmas tree, though I am thinking it may have to go in my craft room instead ;-). We had so much fun and you are right it’s a place we will have to go back to often. Wishing you a very Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  3. what a really pretty journal page Jo! You have captured the colors and magic of Alice’s beautifully. What a magical tea room-LOVE the chandelier! Thanks for sharing your art and this lovely tea room with us. Happy T day!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m always amazed at the wonderful places you go, and the journal entries you create afterward. I would LOVE to spend a day with you and see all the wonderful things you get up to. Alice’s Tea Room is no exception. From the top hat light to the teacup chandelier, your lovely photos echo what you created on your beautiful journal page. I’m simply thrilled you shared this magical place (including your journal entry) with us for T this Tuesday.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What an amazing tea room-and an amazing page to go with it Jo. I think my favorite photo is the chandelier with the tea cups. That is really clever. You really caught the atmosphere of the place with your page-I love adding business cards to pages and using the napkin was a really clever way get a good atmosphere. happy T day! Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Book me a seat, I would love to visit that tearoom, it looks magical with so much to see. I loved the tea cup lighting. Your journal page is fabulous and is surely a wonderful way to remember your visit.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Yvonne! Yes I’d be happy to book you a seat 🙂 There is so much to see, maybe I could come with you as I need to visit again to explore more – every time I looked I saw something new! Wishing you a Happy T-Day! J 🙂

      Like

  7. Your wonderful post has left me feeling very hungry now Jo 🙂
    Your page, as always is beautiful and has captured the essence of where you have visited perfectly. That tea room is really wonderful.
    Have a lovely day…. Gill xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks very much Gill! The afternoon tea was a sight to behold too, it was so big though I’m not sure I’d eat it all. The bacon butty and shared piece of cake was more than enough for me :-). Have a lovely day too! J 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

