Water Lily

Recently we were cycling through a local park on our tandem and to my great surprise, in the pond was a glorious display of water lilies, their pink petals elegantly dancing over the water. This happy discovery made me smile and inspired this page.

Water Lily - AJP

I started by painting diluted blue, pink and green Memento Ink onto the page to create a water background that looks like pond reflections. I then covered the page with white gesso and when it was dry I added more detail by stamping flowers and dots using the same pink and a grey Memento Ink. The water lilies and associated wording are fussy cut from a wallpaper sample and are stuck to the page using Liquitex matte gel medium. I painted white gesso over the wording using my finger to blend them into the background and I used a Spectrum Aqua Marker to outline them and smudged this outline with a baby wipe. I shaded the water lily images with a black Uni Pin marker and a white Uniball gel pen to add more 3D dimension. Then I added pink and green border stickers separating them with a gold line, which along with the gold flowers and circles are outline stickers. To finish I used more gold stickers to add some words, which are associated with water lilies.

DSCF8005a

Having seen Patty’s wonderful post last month of water lilies and those magnificent Loti, I was very happy to discover these beautiful water lilies right on my doorstep in my local park!

DSCF8006a

I have been back a few times to admire them, they are so stunning! With this month’s theme being “Nature’s Wonders”, I’m pleased to be able to join Gill over at Art Journal Journey.

Lytham Shrimper

“The Lytham Shrimper” with his basket and net is made of bronze and can be found in the middle of the lily pond (you may also notice me and our tandem in the background). This sculpture celebrates Lytham’s history of shrimping, which along with fishing was the main economy for the area for many centuries until the Industrial Revolution and the advent of tourism. Today you can still purchase Lytham Shrimps and there is only one full-time shrimper remaining.

If you have any comments or questions, please feel free to ask, I love to hear from you.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Pébéo White Gesso
  • Memento Dye Ink (Summer Blue, Angel Pink, Pistachio, London Fog)
  • Spectrum Aqua Artist’s Markers (Charcoal, Slate)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line Marker (Black 0.1mm)
  • Uniball Signo gel pen (White)
  • Kars clear stamps X-Mas Collection (Flower Fantasy Chr. 980003/0077)
  • Woodware Francoise Collection stamp set (Flower Style Wood Set FRSWS003)
  • Penny Black 2006 Stickeroos (Swirls #10-175)
  • Docrafts Anita’s Outline Stickers (Simple Flowers Gold ANT8101102)
  • Hobbycraft Ouline Stickers (Gold Scenes 5934211001)
  • Dovecraft Peel-off Stickers (Alphas Caps Gold DCPO-05)
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • Wallpaper sample
26 thoughts on “Water Lily

  1. Love the beautiful water-lily page, they are wonderful flowers. The blooms are finished here, there is a gorgeous lake full of them at a castle near here. Love the Lytham shrimper, too! Thanks for joining us again at AJJ, hugs, Valerie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fabulous and interesting post Jo, your water lily piece is really gorgeous.
    Lots of lovely details – I like the where you placed the pink/green borders.
    Your photos are super, they are beautiful flowers – love the reflection in water.
    The sculpture is awesome too.
    Hope you’ve had a good day……..Gill xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks a lot Gill! They are stunning flowers and I was so pleased to come across them flowering in all their spectacular glory :-). Spending time art journaling today which is always so much fun and makes me smile! Wishing you a great day! J 🙂

      Like

  3. Such a beautiful page – gorgeous and a wonderful pond with these awesome water lilies – and the sculpture is beautiful! Tandem — this is unique!
    So glad you were inspired by this trip and linked such a wonderful page again!
    Happy weekend ahead!
    oxo Susi

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Well aren’t you nice to mention me dear Jo.
    Thank you for that.
    Your waterlilies look absolutely splendid both in the park AND on your page.
    Brilliant use of that pretty wallpaper!
    The way you put pages together seems so seamless and polished ♥
    How fun to ride a tandem bike! I have always wanted to try it.
    That park looks like a wonderful respite with the lily pond and the shrimper statue makes a really special water feature too.
    You make me fall in Love with waterlilies all over again.
    oxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww, thanks Patty! I love your post, the aquatic gardens are amazing and you have captured them beautifully on your journal page and photos! So you can imagine how excited I was to find these beautiful waterlilies on my doorstep, I haven’t managed to find Loti yet though ;-). We are always out and about on our tandem during the summer, it’s so much fun! It’s great that you can chat and point things out to each other as you are riding along too :-). Wishing you a happy week! J 🙂

      Like

  5. Water lilies do look beautiful and your gorgeous page looks great with the soft colours you used. ,. I loved seeing the photos you took in the park, especially the statue of the Shrimper. What fun you must have getting out on the tandem.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Gorgeous piece Jo. I think you really captured in your art the water lilies in the photo you showed us. LOVE all the pink! And that photo is pretty cool. So do they raise the shrimp in the ponds? Those flowers are beautiful and I can see why you went back more than once. And what a cool bike you have. I’ve never ridden a tandem. Is it easy to do? Have a great weekend. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Erica! This page just called for pink so I thought I’d create a page with it even though I’m not really a pink girlie girl ;-). Sorry for the confusion, there are no shrimp ponds. Lytham is on an estuary and this is where the shrimp are caught. You’ll find the tractors, parked by the sea wall, which take out the small tenders, from which the fishermen disembark to catch the shrimps. Lytham is synonymous with shrimps because of the River Ribble, which floods the estuary with fresh water, laden with nutrients. This dilutes the salinity of the channel, which is important for shrimps to flourish, as is the raised water temperature which is provided by the shallow depths which wash over the sun-heated sandbanks. The result is we get to land shrimps right on our shores. As for the tandem it’s easy for me to ride as I’m on the back, it’s not for everyone though as you don’t have control the person on the front does, so we hired one (when we vacationed in America 🙂 ) to make sure we liked it first. I love it, it helps that my hubby is a good captain and communicator :-). Have a great weekend too! J 🙂

      Like

    • Thanks a lot! Yes I suppose I do try and depict what I see on my journal pages to keep the wonderful feeling and memories alive :-). Me and hubby like to take advantage of the good weather and get out and about on our tandem, it’s so much fun :-). Wishing you a happy Friday! J 🙂

      Like

  7. A lovely post and a place I have visited last year. Lytham is a beautiful place with stunning buildings and pretty little shops. The park is amazing with the water lilies in flower–never saw those as it was late in the year when we were there

    Wonderful art page you made.

    Love Chrissiexx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks very much Chrissie! Lytham is such a pretty place and there is always so much to do, we always have so much fun. As I’m sure you’ll agree it’s such a joy living by the sea. Wishing you a happy Friday! J 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

