Sharing with Others

Following on from the kindness I was shown recently, I wanted to create a page about the value of sharing with others. I found the quote and the teapot image in a lovely little book about tea that I have in my book collection and I was inspired to create a page with them.

Sharing with Others - AJP

I painted the page with a thin layer of grey Winsor & Newton watercolour paint and stamped the hearts using London Fog Memento Ink and the flower bouquets using Tea Dye Distress Ink in a repeat pattern across the page. I added two rectangles of decoupage paper using Liquitex matte gel medium and edged them with a lace border stamp from Hampton Arts using the same Memento Ink. The vintage roses are fussy cut from stickers and the Victorian style teapot is a copy of an image from my lovely little book. I enhanced both the rose and teapot images with black Uni Pin and white gel pen to add depth and dimension. The quote is stamped using Rich Cocoa Memento Ink. I added diamante strips along the edge of the decoupage paper and the finishing touch was the addition of the two vintage metal brooch stickers, which I think compliment the look and feel of the page.

book

I found this book in a second-hand bookshop and immediately fell in love with it, isn’t the front cover gorgeous! It takes pride of place on my bookshelf and is full of wonderful quotes about tea and beautiful paintings of vintage cups and teapots. I think it may inspire a series of journal pages!

brown

To continue the vintage Victorian theme and as T Stands for Tuesday – it’s time for tea and crumpets! These are English crumpets and are served toasted with butter, they are so yummy! I’m pleased to be saying a big hello to the T-Gang and wishing you all a Happy T Day!

If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Winsor & Newton Cotman Watercolours (Payne’s Gray)
  • Memento Dye Ink (London Fog, Rich Cocoa)
  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Tea Dye)
  • Spectrum Aqua Artist’s Markers (Sepia, Slate)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line Marker (Black 0.1mm)
  • Uniball Signo gel pen (White)
  • Hobbycraft clear stamp (Love Hearts 50402HC)
  • Great Impressions wood mounted stamp (Ruffled Spring Bouquet #C36)
  • Hampton Art Doodlebug Design cling mounted rubber stamps (Borders ICO160)
  • Dovecraft upper and lower case alphabet stamp set (WDN Alpha Stmp DCVW0050)
  • Vivi Gade decoupage paper (Skagen 25561)
  • Poundworld DécoTime (Vintage Stickers #54748)
  • Hobbycraft gem stones (Black & White Frame Adhesive Gem Design 5665551000)
  • Penny Black 2004 Stickeroos (Vintage Roses #10-142)
  • Teapot image
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • UHU Stic
23 thoughts on “Sharing with Others

  1. Your journal page is wonderful, but for me the star of the show today is not even the lovely book, but those crumpets – yummy! These are not available in Germany, and although I did make them a few times, it would nice to be able to pop to the supermarket for a packet of crumpets for tea. Happy T Day, hugs, Valerie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a great journal page! And the book looks wonderful! I love it.
    Crumpets! Oh you’ve got my mouth watering. Unfortunately we can’t buy them here in Spain. We will be visiting the UK in October and crumpets are on the list of things to eat close to the fish and chips and an Indian curry, and a Cornish pasty etc etc.
    Happy T-Day and a good week ahead,
    Lisca

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh yummy, tea and crumpets, a great favourite of mine. I think that book was a great find, it would be well looked after by me as well. I love the journal page with that lovely quote, its a beautiful vintage teapot .
    Happy Tuesday.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I was particularly impressed with the balance you gave to your journal page. The metal brooch stickers were the perfect compliment to this page.

    I have never had crumpets, but they look a bit like English muffins to me, at least texture wise. After following the link you provided, I noticed they referenced English muffins, too. I would love to taste a real English crumpet because in the wiki photo, they don’t look exactly the same.

    Thanks for sharing your gorgeous tea inspired art journal page, your toasted crumpet and your cup of tea with us for T this Tuesday.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks a lot! Crumpets aren’t quite the same as muffins, when our American friends came to stay we had them for breakfast one day so they could try them :-). I seem to remember my friend liking them, she had them toasted with butter and homemade jam. Wishing you a Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  5. That tea book looks like a great find. And your tea page is perfect. It makes me want to go make a cuppa and have a little relaxing time. I love how it feels very nostalgic. And I think I need to try crumpets. I’ve never had them, but they look rather yummy- I bet they’d be good with melted butter. (Which maybe you have on yours.) Hope it was a wonderful T day. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Such a gorgeous collage you created Jo with such pretty details.
    Not surprised that you were inspired by that lovely tea book.
    The sentiment is so true and beautifully stated.
    Just the sound of “tea and crumpets” is nice.
    It has been awhile since I’ve had any.
    Our Trader Joe’s market carries two kinds and now I think I need some 😉
    I really enjoy the moistness of them compared to drier English muffins which are also tasty when toasted.
    Happy T Day to you oxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Patty! The tea book is so beautiful and I think it may inspire me to create a few more journal pages with it’s gracious sentiments and beautiful images :-). Enjoy the crumpets when you get some ;-). I think crumpets are probably a more popular choice here in the UK too, I only tend to use English muffins for Eggs Benedict, which I am now craving ;-). Wishing you happiness and a lovely week! J 🙂

      Like

    • Many thanks! I normally have an empty box which I put my materials in as I go along, that way if I want to use something again it’s easily to hand, it also keeps my work surface a bit clearer and of course it helps with my listings too :-). Thanks and wishing you a lovely Wednesday! J 🙂

      Like

  7. What a lovely quote 🙂 Your crumpet looks like an English muffin, so I was surprised to see your response to Elizabeth explaining that they’re different. I wonder if I can get them here. I will definitely look.

    It’s T Wednesday for me, but I’m thinking T Every Day is a good idea 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. aww that’s such a nice quote on your lovely and elegant page Jo and love the look of your book too. The crumpets look yummy – although I’d probably have marmite or honey on them.- that melted cheese sound nice too 🙂 feeling very hungry now!
    Great post – Gill xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Gill! I love the book, it has such lovely quotes and paintings in it, I often take it off my book shelf and look at it :-). Now there’s an idea for a topping marmite and melted cheese – yum! Thanks again and have a great week! J 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

