Tolkien Trail

Recently we walked the J. R. R. Tolkien Trail in the Ribble Valley in the glorious sunshine. It’s a 6.5 mile walk around the area that the famous author stayed in whilst writing Lord of the Rings. Some of the names from his book are based on places in the vicinity. It’s a lovely area with beautiful views across stunning countryside and alongside rivers. This page is inspired by all the wonderful sights and sounds that we encountered along the way!

Tolkien Trail - Art Journal Page

Firstly I smooshed Spectrum Aqua Markers to create a wash of colour for the different scenes, this was either a blue sky or the green vegetation background. Starting at the top left corner and working clockwise around the page I started to create my scenes. I stamped the tree image and then stamped some green leaves using Memento and Distress Inks, then painted the trunk and branches using Aqua markers. I doodled leaf outlines and drew a little bird in the branches, adding music notes cut from washi tape to depict birdsong. The Garden Pavillion image was fussy cut from a map of the walk, which like all the other collage elements is stuck to the page with a UHU Stic and outlined with a black Uni Pin marker once the glue had dried. The dappled leaves are stamped using various shades of green Distress Inks and a yellow Aqua marker. Moving on to the bee, this is a sticker and the background is stamped with a hexagonal pattern to mimic honeycombs. The flowers are cut out from a napkin and I doodled on top of them with black marker and white gel pen. The Cromwell Bridge image is from the map, the background of pebbles was created using a polystyrene homemade stamp and a mixture of Memento and Distress Inks. The two little birds were stamped using Archival Ink, I extended the branch and stamped the leaves too. The farmhouse and grasshopper are rub-on transfers and to create the lines of drying grass in the field, I used washi tape as a mask and added Distress Ink over the top with a blending tool.

details

The rusty iron cogs are a stencil design that I cut out from some leftover rusty metal sheet that I had made using cardboard, modelling paste and acrylic paints from another project. (I’m particularly proud of the results from this technique). The leaves behind the cogs are from napkins. I stamped the flurry of butterflies using Archival Ink and then added green foam flowers and the pretty paper daisies. At the centre of my page is the map of the trail we followed and I stamped a quote from J.R.R. Tolkien himself, I think it is very apt for this walk.

We took many photos on our walk and as you will see they give an indication of some of the sights that inspired my page.

Hills

Starting at Hurst Green we walked through farmland into Stoneyhurst College, I loved this kissing gate and the college was very majestic with its wonderful views of Pendle Hill.

College

Stoneyhurst College was founded in 1593 and famous students include Charles Carroll (a signatory on the US Declaration of Independence) and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (Author of Sherlock Holmes)

woods

Then we moved into woodland, the leaves were stunning in the dappled light. I thought we might have run into a few more hobbits than we did or even Gollum under one of the bridges. There was an abundance of grasses and pretty flowers as we made our way up the hill towards the river walk.

Cromwell Bridge

As we walked alongside the river, we came to Cromwell’s Bridge, which was supposedly used by Cromwell’s army in 1648 on their way to the Battle of Preston, although the crossing dates all the way back to 1331 AD.

Views

Along the riverside path, the landscape opened up to large open fields and the farmers were harvesting the hay, cutting it down into neat lines. We entered a few farms and noticed old rusty machinery which appeared long forgotten.

stones

We stopped to relax, watch the river flow by and skim some stones, you can just see a stone in mid-flight by the water splash as it was sent skimming along the water’s surface. There were beautiful butterflies alongside the river by the aqueduct as we made our way back to the village that we started from.

With all of “Nature’s Wonders” we saw in the glorious lush green countryside, I’m pleased to join Art Journal Journey.

food collage

As a reward, we stopped off at The Apricot Meringue tea room in Clitheroe – we needed our pot of Green tea, sandwich and chips! We even had dessert to share, my hubby’s choice this time was a Black Forest Brownie Sundae – it was very yummy!

As T Stands for Tuesday I’m saying a big hello to the T-Gang and wishing you all a Happy T Day!

If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Spectrum Aqua Artist’s Marker (Aquamarine, Moss, Yellow, Chocolate)
  • Tim Holtz Distress Inks (Mowed Lawn, Cracked Pistachio, Pine Needles, Tea Dye, Shabby Shutters)
  • Memento Dye Ink (londong Fog, Pistachio, Rich Cocoa)
  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line Marker (Black 0.1mm and 0.8mm)
  • Uniball Signo gel pen (White)
  • Art Impressions wood mounted stamp (AI – P1398)
  • BoBunny stamp (Falling Leaves 12105154)
  • Docrafts Papermania clear stamps (Capsule Geometric Mono 3pcs)
  • Dovecraft clear stamp (DCC5014)
  • Hampton Art Doodlebug Design Inc. cling mounted rubber stamps (Thankful ICO162)
  • Docrafts Papermania mini clear stamp (Everyday Assortment PMA907003)
  • Homemade polystyrene stamp
  • Dovecraft upper and lower case alphabet stamp set (WDN Alpha Stmp DCVW0050)
  • Viva Décor universal stencil (Past Times 9002 703 00)
  • Poundland (Fairy Stickers)
  • Royal and Langnickel rub-on transfers (Home Collage #ROY533 Rub-on, Insect Collection #TIP-1484 Rub-on)
  • Wilko (Flower Embellishments)
  • The Works (3 Washi Tapes)
  • Hobbycraft Made with Love (Sun Daisy x12 White 41417)
  • Caspari Napkins
  • Tolkien Trail map
  • Scrap of homemade rusty metal cardboard
  • UHU Stic
30 thoughts on “Tolkien Trail

  1. Love your journal page, and the accompanying photos, which brought back lots of pleasant memories for me from the time I lived near there. Loved all the fantastic details, especially the rusty bits, well done. Thanks for another great page for AJJ! Hugs, Valerie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my gosh! This page is just AMAZING and I enjoyed watching all the wonderful impressions of this amazing place! I am a big Tolkien Fan as well and can imagine how great that destination was to visit!
    Awesome!
    Happy T-Day — the food you had looks fantastic …wow! Mouth watering!
    Thank you dear Jo for joining Art Journal Journey again and again with your wonderful art!
    Much appreciated and thank you for your visits on my blog!
    ♥♥♥
    Happy rest of Tuesday!
    oxo Susi

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a wonderful set of photos from your walk. It looks a beautiful area to visit. I can see in you fantastic detailed journal page how inspired you were by the countryside.
    The food looks delicious, I could just do with that dessert right now.
    Happy T day.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What an incredible post. From the beauty of your beautiful journal page to the history lesson you shared with us, this was a super joy to read and take in. The beauty of your photos made everything extra special, too.

    Of course, I really enjoyed seeing your green tea, sandwich, chips, and incredible dessert you and hubby had as a treat. I can’t begin to believe how delicious that Black Forest Brownie Sundae must have tasted. Thanks for sharing your art, photos, and beautiful tea filled lunch with us for T this Tuesday.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. oooh a very special walk inspired your beautiful page Jo!
    Such lovely details and that quote is of course perfect too.
    Splendid country vistas and rusty things are always a bonus in my book also full of charm and stories to tell.
    One thing I notice about the UK is all of the special sounding names.
    The tea shoppe! and brilliant choice was a sundae Yummy!
    I would have had my eye on that pretty paper doily.
    My family knows by now to snatch it out first thing before it gets food on it.
    We always hope the plates don’t clank when they go back to the kitchen without 😉
    oxo
    p.s. you asked about how I do paper napkins
    I always peel them down to the thinnest layer and sometimes that can be fiddly but worth it I think. I have thought before that I’d peeled each layer and when I tried attaching it to the page with matte medium the layers bubbled up. Oh and on the “discover” pages you asked about I was working on top of white gesso which also helped make the napkins pop.
    Happy T Day ! Oh and your skipping stone pic is wonderfully captured too ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, thanks for the tip Patty, I’ve advised my hubby that all doilies and napkins are needed for crafting in future ;-). I was really surprised I caught the skipping stone, it turned out to be quite the action shot. Thank you for your kindness and wishing you a Happy T day! J 🙂

      Like

  6. Fabulous post Jo. I love your page – there’s so many lovely details and techniques that I don’t know where to begin. Loved the homemade pebbles stamp and the fab faux rust cogs.
    I’d not heard of the Ribble Valley and that trail, so that was very interesting and your photos are wonderful – especially the Black Forest Brownie Sundae mmmm 🙂
    Thanks for sharing your great day out… Gill xx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Fabulous page Jo. I love how you added the map to it nd the images so it feels like your walk. And what a gorgeous walk. It seems you’ve done other pages about walking so I am curious if you both like to take these long walks? I would. I love walking and seeing things. Also you lunch looks delicious, and that sundae. Yum. I’ve never heard of a black forest sundae but if its anything like the cake I bet it was really yummy. Happy T day. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for your kind comments Erica! We do like to go on walks together and explore new places, especially if we know of a good place to eat at the end of the walk ;-). The Sundae was scrummy, in this case it was pieces of chocolate brownie, dark morello cherries, vanilla ice cream and chocolate sauce, all topped with freshly whipped cream, mmm. Happy T day! J 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

