Inner Fairy

I have always loved this quote and when I found this adorable fairy, I couldn’t wait to create this page!

Inner Fairy - Art Journal Page

I covered the background with patches of white gesso using a palate knife – I find it produces a lovely textured and translucent effect when inks are applied over the top. I painted different greens using diluted Distress Inks and Colourfast Brusho Crystal powders, then splattered diluted Black Soot Distress Ink onto the page. The flowers stamp is from Hampton Arts and I stamped it using grey Memento Ink. For the honeycomb effect I stamped hexagonal shapes using Distress Ink and stenciled dots using Pébéo modelling paste mixed with glitter glue. Once the modelling paste was dry I added more sparkly glitter over the top. To create the fairy dust I sprinkled Brusho power in 3 places and spritzed with water, then added dots of glitter glue in a starburst, which took a while to dry. I cut the pink flowers from napkins and stuck them down with UHU Stic. Once the quote was stamped onto pink paper, I outlined the pieces with a black Sharpie. The quote, fairy, clover and bees are all stuck to the page with double-sided foam tape to add extra dimension.

Bee collage

I like to think fairies live under the toadstools in our garden, and this bee must definitely think so too! A big Thank You to Yvonne aka Meggymay over at Art Journal Journey for this month’s theme ‘In my garden there is…’, which I am really enjoying.

Jo

My hubby says the fairy looks like this “little crafter” when I was a little girl! What do you think? I love this quote and believe you can realise your dreams if you:

“Spread your wings and let your inner fairy fly”

If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Pébéo White Gesso
  • Tim Holtz Distress Inks (Shabby Shutters, Mowed Lawn, Peeled Paint, Tea Dye. Black Soot)
  • Colourfast Brusho Colour Crystals (Leaf Green, Emerald Green)
  • Memento Dye Ink (London Fog)
  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet black)
  • Sharpie Permanent Marker Fine Point (Black)
  • Pébéo Modeling Paste High Density
  • Hobbycraft Glitter Glue Pens (Assorted Colours)
  • Creative Expressions Masks (That Touch of Mica Masks – Distressed Dots)
  • Hampton Arts Bella Blvd cling mounted rubber stamps (Sand & Surf ICO226)
  • Docrafts Papermania clear stamps (Capsule Geometric 3 pcs)
  • Dovecraft upper and lower case alphabet stamp set (WDN ALPHA STMP DCVW0050)
  • Craft Sensations Design Pad paper (Endless Love CR0260/A)
  • Poundland (Fairy Stickers)
  • Caspari Napkin
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • UHU Stic
  • The Range double-sided foam tape
22 thoughts on “Inner Fairy

  1. Wonderful journal page, with so many beautiful details, and thanks for all your support for AJJ this month, much appreciated. I love the idea of letting my inner fairy fly, as soon as I have finished cleaning the bathroom I’ll let her out! Hugs, Valerie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh Valerie, that’s so funny! Maybe if you let her out while you are cleaning the bathroom you may finish it quicker … lol. The theme at AJJ has been great this month. You, Susi and Yvonne as such amazing hosts, thank you! Wishing you a Happy Friday! J 🙂

      Like

  2. Gorgeous details and an adorable little fairy, you have placed her in a beautiful setting, with a super quote on this page, I would love to fly off, especially when there is a spot of housework that needs doing. Its good to dream. The little toadstools must be fairy houses they look lovely and your little crafter photo, just needs her wings pinning on to fly. It is a super photo.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Yvonne, that’s very kind of you! It’s good to dream, I think a magic wand would be good, then hey presto all the housework is done. Wouldn’t that be wonderful!. Wishing you a super weekend! J 🙂

      Like

    • Thanks very much Patty! Yes my hubby loves that photo, it actually sits on our sideboard next to one of him at a similar age at Knotts Berry Farm (California) dressed in a Native American Head Dress, he looks so cute! Wishing you a very happy weekend too! J 🙂

      Like

  3. A beautiful lovely page Jo! Great! And you were an adorable little one! O.k. you are a Sweetie and Beauty since ever I guess…lol!
    Thank you so much for supporting AJJ so well – this so much appreciated!
    The bee was fascinated from the special mushroom I think…lol!
    oxo Susi
    wishing you a HAPPY weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think your husband is right. You do look like the little fairy as a child. That is a very precious photo.

    Your latest AJJ spread is wonderful and so detailed. I always appreciate how you explain your layout in complete detail. I don’t see that very often these days, and I like how you take time to walk us through all the steps you took. Attention to detail is very important in my book.

    I wasn’t sure you had read my request to add you to my left sidebar because I had not heard from you. However, when I came today I looked back and realized you had written your reply on your blog. I am so sorry Jo, but with my slow computer and all the people I have to visit each day, I don’t have time to return and see what you have written in reply. I truly, TRULY wish I did! Your blog will be on my sidebar as soon as I post this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much!

      I always tend to write a response to people who leave a comment on my blog and I thought you would get a reply automatically, I’m new to WordPress so didn’t realise sorry. (So I have sent this comment via email to you as well 🙂 ). I’m more than happy and very honoured to be included on your blog sidebar, thank you for asking :-).

      Wishing you a wonderful weekend!
      J 🙂

      Like

  5. That precious fairy really does make me think of you in that picture. Both are so cute. I know you had gobs of fun creating that journal piece. Thanks for your visit and you sweet words. genie

    Liked by 1 person

  6. awww your inner fairy and your photo are adorable – you must have had your wings tucked away hidden behind your back.
    Thanks for sharing all the info about your beautiful page – .I love it 🙂
    Gill x

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Awe, the art journal page is adorable Jo! The quote is perfect for this spread. I really like the pops of color and the touches of sparkle. I would say that you totally look like the fairy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

