Light Ash Farm Shop and Café

After a walk in the countryside, we had a wonderful time at Light Ash Farm, looking round the farm shop and sitting in the sunshine enjoying a drink and the superb home cooked food at the café. This page is inspired by our visit and you’ll see some of the elements I have depicted on my page in my photos later.

Light Ash Farm - Art Journal PageTo start I added a thin layer of diluted Faber-Castell Big Brush marker to the page with a paint brush under the areas of brick work. Distress Inks were then applied to the other areas of the page with a blending tool to create a soft background. I used Liquitex gel medium to adhere the bricks, which I made from a wallpaper sample. I added detail between the bricks using diluted Spectrum Aqua marker to make it look like mortar. The owl and wooden panel papers are fixed to the page using UHU Stic and the flowers, leaves and butterflies are toppers, stickers and a napkin. The cake and stand are fussy cut from an old birthday card and I embellished it with a rose sticker then stuck it to the page using double-sided foam tape. I also punched out some hearts from the glittery border of the birthday card, which help to tie the colours together. The postage stamp is from Poland and dates back to 1963, it’s from my hubby’s childhood stamp collection.   I used some sparkly corners to attach the farm name and UHU Stic for the other farm images which were taken from a promotional leaflet.

Horse

When we first arrived we passed the stable yard, and this handsome fellow popped his head out to welcome us! My page reflects this image with the use of brick and wood, as well as the beautiful white flowers cascading over the top of the stable and of course the horse. As we walked round the side of the barn we walked towards a field and saw the farm had more horses too, galloping over to say hello at the gate.

Owls

We turned the corner and then I saw these, aren’t they fantastic! I love owls so they made their way onto my page!

Front

The farm shop and café is inside an old barn which has been converted, with its splendid flower baskets and wooden carvings making a lovely sight. The café was very busy so we decided to sit outside on one of the picnic benches; it was a great choice as we could take in the atmosphere and watch the comings and goings of the farm. We watched the farm dog basking in the sunshine in the stable yard, the House Martins which were nesting along the side of the barn, the horses in the field and even saw the farmer on his tractor.

Cakes

Luckily I had an old birthday card with the perfect cake and stand picture, as I wanted to include these marvellous cakes on my page. We noticed a lot of people leaving the shop and café with takeaway boxes filled with the spectacular cake that they serve.

Carrot Cake

For dessert we couldn’t resist having a piece of the Carrot Cake between us, we didn’t need a takeaway box though … lol!

food

We had chicken and stuffing sandwich with apple sauce, coleslaw, crisps and salad. Don’t you just love how those chips were served in a heart-shaped bowl! We enjoyed Green tea and the carrot cake too. Yum! As T Stands for Tuesday turns three today I’m so glad to join Bluebeard and Elizabeth’s party, Many Congratulations! Happy T Day!

Shop

After lunch we had a look round the shop which was chock-a-block with cakes and goodies.

Heart

I just love this rag heart which I saw, it has inspired me to make my own and maybe some smaller ones for Christmas presents. The backing is Hessian and the fabric strips are just pulled through, it should be a fun project! If anyone has made one of these before, any tips would be most welcome.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Faber-Castell Big Brush artist pen (Grey 233)
  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Milled Lavender, Shabby Shutters)
  • Spectrum Aqua Artist’s Markers (Tan)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.1mm)
  • Uniball Signo gel pen (White)
  • Dovecraft Glitter Stickers (Cupcake Boutique – GS CAKES C’CAKE B – DCST047)
  • Nitwit Collections Essentials (Strawberry Social – Toppers NWCE-T-SS1)
  • Poundland (Fairy Stickers)
  • Craft Asylum 6×6 paper pad (Into the Woods 480326)
  • Caspari Napkins (Elderflower and Berries)
  • Birthday card
  • Wallpaper sample
  • Leaflet
  • Postage stamp
  • Tonic Studios Paper Punch Accent (Heart Sider 830E)
  • The Range 3D Glitter Glue Pen
  • Liquitex Matte gel medium
  • UHU Stic
  • The Range double-sided foam tape
34 thoughts on “Light Ash Farm Shop and Café

  1. What a fantastic page that is reminiscent of the time you spent at Light Ash Farm. Somehow yiu always find the PERFECT elements for your page, including the owls and the cake.

    Speaking of cake, carrot cake is my favorite, too. My grandmother (grandparents raised me from birth) always made me one every year on my birthday with cream cheese frosting and real carrots and sometimes raisins, too. I always laugh when I see my non-American friends referring to chips as what we call french fries. That pot of tea looks good, too.

    This was a beautiful trip and journal page you shared with us for T this soon to be Tuesday. I was so glad you took us with you. BTW, I have no idea how to help with the rag heart. I’m no good with hand and finger work.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much! I enjoyed it so much when I got home I made Carrot Cake cupcakes with real carrots and cream frosting, they were delicious. Yes I really enjoy the differences in word meanings with my friends too … and what you call chips we call crisps …lol. Thanks again and Happy soon to be T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  2. oh what a special treat and a grand day!! Everything about your day is just wonderful from the horse to the food to the desserts (oh my!) to the owls, and to the charming heart shaped rag rug. I’d be smiling from ear to ear too. Brilliant journal page depicting your time. Happy T day!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a great spot to enjoy a lovely sunny day and all of those delicious treats… Oh My!
    I could get full just looking at it all.
    Our wedding cake was carrot cake ♥
    Your journal page is super Jo!!!
    You pull so many elements together to create really polished pages full of interest.
    Really lovely.
    Happy T Day oxo
    p.s. The horse is so handsome and the owls are really fabulous.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks very much Patty! Oh what a lovely idea to have carrot cake as your wedding cake. It’s my definitely favourite cake although I’m sure my hubby would prefer something with chocolate and cherries :-). When I started this page I actually thought I had nothing in my craft stash to depict our time at the farm. Then I got creative and hey presto all the elements came together so magically. My favourites were the horse and owls too! Wishing you a Happy T day! J 🙂

      Like

  4. Wow- what a lunch. I think it looks delicious, but maybe I would just have cake to eat. And those owls are adorable. I love owls. I might have had to buy one and bring it home, if in fact they were for sale. Nice journal page about your visit too. Your rag heart came out great too! Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Erica! The cake was delicious and as you can see the slice was massive, I definitely wouldn’t have been able to eat a whole piece of that sugary goodness to myself! Luckily we decided to share and my hubby was there to finish it off :-). The owls were for sale, I had to control my urge to buy one, maybe next time. Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  5. Gorgeous journal page and what a lovely place you visited. And that food – and cakes – oh my, I want to be there now! How great that they serve everything so well, too, and make it look so good. Glad you had a great outing, journalled about it, and I wish you a happy T Day, hugs, Valerie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks a lot Valerie! It is a wonderful place, they really do pay attention to the little details don’t they and it tastes so good as the food is all locally sourced and the cakes are homemade. Wishing you a Happy T day! J 🙂

      Like

  6. your journaling sums up all your activities so well! that carrot cake Looks mouth watering… i think i should brew my Cup of coffee now;)
    have a great week and happy t-day!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Now that is a wonderful farm shop! The sort I love to visit, with yummy cakes, some hand-made artifacts and real animals. Your collage page reflects your visit perfectly.
    The carrot cake is yum! I love carrot cake. I made one last Saturday with real carrots (how do you make carrot cake without carrots?) and cream cheese frosting, which I prefer to butter frosting.
    Thank you for taking us on this lovely visit.
    Happy T-Day,
    Lisca

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Lisca! It sounds like we have the same tastes, I also make my carrot cake with real carrots and it definitely has to be cream cheese frosting for me. I liked the cake we had so much that I made a batch of carrot cupcakes when we got back home, they are all gone now but were yummy! Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  8. What a lovely farm shop to visit, beautiful setting and tempting things to but. Your meal looks delicious. Its a fantastic page and I can see how you were inspired by the shop.
    My choice would be carrot cake as well.
    Happy T day.
    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Yvonne! There were so many different cakes to choose from but when I saw the carrot cake I knew what my choice would be :-). I always choose carrot cake as long as it doesn’t contain nuts. Happy T Day! J 🙂

      Like

  9. I followed your link to the shop and cafe site, and I see lots of things I want but especially to go there several times to try each of their light lunches and afternoon tea offerings. I’d like it picked up and transported to my neighborhood please 😉 Happy T Tuesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. What a full blog post my T friend… i hardly know where to begin. I did LOVE those owls just like you! 🙂 And the meal looked divine!!Thank you so much for sharing this Tday! Hugs! deb

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Your journal page is great and i think you captured the essence if your visit to the farm so well. I like the rag rug too. That may have to be a future project fir me. If you make one (or more) be sure to show us

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Wow…so many wonderful things you shared in this one post! Love the rag heart…I keep thinking about making a rug like that but I was afraid it would be quite tedious.
    Happy T day!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

