Hot Air Balloons

I came across these lovely Hot Air Balloon images at my local craft shop, and they inspired my page. You’ll notice there is map detail on the balloon image background, and as this month’s theme over at Art Journal Journey is Maps, I’m so glad to be able to link to that challenge. My husband pointed out to me that the British flags on the balloon designs are all upside down. This is a fairly common mistake to make with the Union Jack.Out and About - Art Journal Page

I started off the background by drawing curves using a plate as a template with a Uni Pin fine line marker, then splattering and smooshing diluted Distress Ink onto the page. I filled in the curves that I had created with an Alphabet stamp from Kaisercraft and Archival Ink, it took a bit of time to complete this as I had to mask the curves out to make sure the stamp stayed between the curve lines. It was great fun though and I love how it turned out. I have wanted to use the star tissue paper for a while now, it came from a birthday present, so I tore off pieces and saw them melt into the page when I used Patty’s top tip of using a glue stick to stick them down – thanks Patty! I fussy cut some of the balloon and compass images and stuck them to the page using the glue stick, then gave them a bold black outline using my Uni Pin marker so they stood out more. To finish I added a couple of sentiments and outlined them.

Balloon

It’s a funny coincidence that I have just bought this lovely glass balloon while we were exploring a nearby village shop. I saw it and just fell in love with it!

If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

 Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Tim Holtz Distress Inks (Peeled Paint, Sooty Black, Tea Dye)
  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Faber-Castell Big Brush Pitt artists pen (Black 199)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.1mm and 0.8mm)
  • Script metallic pen (Gold)
  • Kaisercraft clear stamp (Alphabet
  • Kanban Paper craft toppers (Timeless Moments PCT1882)
  • Little Yellow Bicycle card stock stickers (PD-140)
  • Star tissue paper
  • The Range glue stick
20 thoughts on “Hot Air Balloons

  1. Hot air balloons do have a magic quality about them.
    I went up in one once but we did not float away in it…maybe one day.
    What you created is really lovely!
    I especially like the alphabet details.
    I confess I would hot have noticed if the Union Jack was up or down.
    Fun balloon theme with your pretty new blue balloon Jo 🙂
    oxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Patty! I like the alphabet details too, they are my favourite. My new blue glass balloon looks wonderful, it is suspended with fishing wire so it looks like is just floating across my craft room, truly magical 🙂

      Like

  2. I have always said that GLUE STICKS are the worst things in the world to use, unless you are sticking handmade paper, tissue paper, or napkins. Then, they are the absolute perfect glue for the job. Glad Patty’s tip helped, because I fell in love with your latest spread, and the hot air balloon. BUT, the masking of the alpha stamp is simply incredible. I have a lot of trouble masking, so I could take lessons from you. Great job.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, the masking was fun and was something new to me; I like trying new techniques :-). I’d never used the glue stick before to stick tissue paper, it’s fab and I’ll be definitely using it again. So glad you liked the page, thanks again! Happy weekend 🙂

      Like

  3. Great page Jo. I love the curves and how they imitate the curves of a balloon. I think adding in the letters those curves really makes them stand out too. Hope it was a great weekend and I love your glass balloon too. Having it makes every day a party perhaps. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Erica! Yes you always have such insight, I did add the the curves to imitate the balloon :-). The weekend was brilliant and my little glass balloon always makes me smile as it floats across my craft room! Thanks again 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

