Drink Your Greens

Today I find myself taking part in a new challenge over at Altered Book Lover, thanks so much to Patty for recommending the “T Stands for Tuesday” challenge-blog. This page is a bit like East meets West, taking on an oriental feel with green tea from china, my new glass teapot direct from Japan and then the more English tradition of afternoon tea. It’s called “Drink your Greens” as green tea is good for you…right! We won’t mention the cake though…tee hee!

Drink your Greens - Art Journal Page

This page started with my collection of various items, such as a tea cup template, the teapot instructions (written entirely in Japanese!), the green tea packaging and various oriental themed stickers and papers. I started with the teapot instructions, layering different pieces horizontally and vertically on the page. For the rest of the background, I noticed one of the sticker sets has an almost rice paper quality and the most lovely red border and diamond background, so I used that. I think it looks fab so have added a diamond stamp or stencil to my wish list. From the same sticker set I also used the bamboo and red flower borders and squares. The tea cup was cut out from oriental card stock, I love the graduated shading effect that goes down the cup towards the saucer. The little red and white oval sticker was stuck to the actual teapot, I think it’s a quality mark.

Sticker detail

Gunpowder green tea is my favourite blend so I used the lid from the box along with the little yellow sticker which sealed it. To match the pagoda on the yellow tea sticker, I added a pagoda outline stickers which I was given free when I bought other items in a local craft shop. Using a Spectrum Aqua marker I created some shading around the pagoda and other areas. Finally, I added the black oriental card circles, words cut from a magazine and the cupcake. I love how this page turned out and it’s one of my favourites!

Tea and cakes

So as “T stands for Tuesday”,  my hubby and I are having a lovely cup of green tea and as the page indicates, we have cake too. In fact, we always have homemade cake with our tea. I love baking and today’s cake is a Lemon and Blueberry cupcake … scrummy!

If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Spectrum Aqua Artist’s marker (Slate)
  • Faber- Castell Big Brush Pitt artist pen (Black 199)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.1mm)
  • Sharpie Fine Point permanent marker (Black)
  • Uniball Signo gel pen (White)
  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Penny Black 2006 Stickeroos (Butterfly Party #10-18)
  • Hunkydory Luxury Topper Collection (Eastern Promise EAST104)
  • Dovecraft glitter stickers (Cakes – Cupcake Bakery DCST047)
  • Inspirations (Japanese outline stickers Black 2295)
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • The Range double-sided foam tape
  • Hario Glass teapot instructions and sticker
  • Shuanglong Ting special gunpowder green tea box
  • Magazine

T_Tuesday_200

 

22 thoughts on “Drink Your Greens

  1. Welcome, welcome to T day!! So nice to meet you Jo. Your tea art collage is really wonderful! Love all the imagery. and your cups and plates are really nice-I’d use them in the fall for sure:) Lovely looking muffins too-haven’t made lemon blueberry in awhile…hmmmm. Happy T day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Yvonne, I just love green tea although I only drink it once a day but always with cake of course 🙂 The new glass teapot is fantastic, it’s just large enough for 2 people and it infuses the loose tea leaves (that I use) perfectly. Thanks again and I wish you a Happy T day! 🙂

      Like

  2. Welcome to the T-gang Jo! Your Tea page is great! And you love baking! Me too! But I don’t art journal (yet… I have bought the journal, that’s as far as I got…)

    Happy T-Day,
    Lisca

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Lisca, it’s so nice to meet you 🙂 I’m glad you love baking too, the cupcakes I made were delicious and are a low-fat recipe. I only started art journaling last year and still have lots to learn. I always have lots of fun when I art journal, it makes me smile! Happy T Day 🙂

      Like

  3. I apologize that your hostess was gone most of the afternoon, so I missed welcoming you. It looks like a few of the T gang took up the slack, though. You created a very impressive spread, and I love that you explained how you made it. This is wonderful, as were all the supplies you used, too.

    This is almost like a DOUBLE T post, with both the gorgeous tea spread, as well as the beautiful tea pot and your cups, saucers, and matching plate with the yummy looking cupcakes on it.

    So glad you joined us for T this Tuesday and I hope you will continue to do so in the future. It was nice meeting you over tea. Thanks again, and I promise to visit sooner next time.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is a gorgeous page. I love all your tea themes items on the page Jo. I love a good cup of tea so I can relate to your items. And your cup of tea and little cakes look yummy. I’m a baker too and its always fun to see what other people make. Lemon blueberry sounds delicious. Happy T day. Hugs-Erika

    Like

  5. Hi Jo!! Welcome to the Tea Party!! Love your ArtJournal page and thank you for sharing your tea and cake with us. It sounds scrumptious! Happy Tday ! See you next week! Hugs! deb

    Like

Leave a Reply

