Around The World In Eighteen Postage Stamps

I participated in the challenge-blog over at Art Journal Journey last month and had so much fun that I was trying to think of ideas to join in with this months theme of “Maps” which is being hosted by Mary. Don’t you find you get inspired in the most peculiar places? I recently saw a book title on a table while waiting for an appointment, and all of a sudden I knew the page I wanted to create – “Around The World In Eighteen Postage Stamps”. This title of course (as you have probably guessed) is a play on the famous book Around the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne. However in my case, the world and the stamps represent some of the countries I have visited in my lifetime and I haven’t visited 80 countries so 18 it is!

DSC_0231 - Copy

The background is made of pages from a stamp album, I gave them a vintage feel by using Distress Inks and stamped some luggage tickets onto them using Archival Ink. The map image is one I had in my craft stash and I selected the countries that I wanted to display and then cut it into a globe shape to represent the world. Again I applied Distress Ink behind the world cutout and used a glue stick to stick it down. I didn’t want to use a line for each stamp as it would look too busy, so I clustered them into rough geographic groups and attached them with foam tape for a 3D look. The lines and pin heads are stickers and give a nice neat finish. Finally I stamped then coloured and attached the banner. This was a fun page to create as it brought back so many memories of my travels!

DSC_0233 - Copy

If you’re wondering where I got all these lovely stamps from, my hubby has kindly given me his old stamp collection from when he was a child. I am so honoured to have this as part of my craft stash and am so excited that I got to use them for such a memorable and enjoyable page. Thank you hubby!

In case you are interested, the stamps are from Great Britain, Jersey, Guernsey, France, Belgium, Austria, Czech Republic, Egypt, Cyprus, Greece, Italy, Malta, Spain, USA and Canada. There is more than one stamp from the USA, because I have been there more often. Hope you like the page and I would love to know how many countries you have you visited?

If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Tim Holtz Distress Inks (Tea Dye, Brushed Corduroy)
  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Faber- Castell Big Brush Pitt artist pen (Black 199)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.1mm)
  • Script metallic pen (Silver)
  • Papermania Urban stamps (All Aboard – Tags PMA907178)
  • Dovecraft upper and lower case alphabet stamps (WDW Alpha Stamp DCVW0030)
  • Sandylion Kelly Panacci Scrapbook Collection (Stitches & Borders KSCB102)
  • Home Bargains Sticker Mania (Gel Stone Stickers 74749)
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • The Range glue stick
  • The Range double-sided foam tape
  • WHSmith stamp album pages
  • World map (unknown)
  • Postage stamps
16 thoughts on “Around The World In Eighteen Postage Stamps

  1. This is beautiful. What a very clever idea. I am definitely getting my map ideas together and since it is raining today, it is art day for me. Hurrah! Glad you are posting all your beautiful pieces Jo. Hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a lovely page you created here Jo!
    Postage stamps are something I enjoy so very much and always have.
    That is extra special to have your husband’s stamp collection and what a great way to give some of them place of honor in things you’ve created.
    Challenges really are great for getting the creative juices flowing aren’t they.
    oxo
    p.s. Travel is a favorite thing of mine too. Such a wonderful big wide world we live in ♥ with so much to see and enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

