American Journey Notice Board

I know this isn’t an Art Journal Page, but my husband has recently finished my new craft room (yay!) and I wanted a notice board to place all my happy memories, inspirations and to-do lists, so I thought I would create my own magnetic board. I have been saving paper bags from shops that I visited on holiday in America. I love that my new board reminds me of my travels, the only problem is I don’t want to cover it up with anything now.

Notice board - Art Journal Page

I started with a metal wall art sign, which I bought cheaply from a local outlet store as it seems this particular saying is now out of fashion. In fact this was cheaper than sourcing a piece of metal from the DIY store.

Collage

I made a collage with the paper bags that I had collected over the years, I am really pleased to find a use for them as I loved them and didn’t want to throw them away and instead of having them sit in my drawer they are now bright and cheery on the wall of my craft room. I tore the bags to fit and then created a distressed look on the edges using a Faber-Castell Big Brush marker. Next I used neat PVA to bond them onto the metal. I didn’t need to white gesso the surface first as the brown paper bags were thick enough and the sentiment didn’t show through. Once the piece had dried I covered the whole surface with three layers of watered down PVA, leaving it to dry between applications. The finished surface has a very slight shine to it, which I really like. I am so pleased with the results and am now planning to make my own magnets from dice and sea-glass which we collect on our travels.

Finished result - Art Journal Page

Here’s my notice board finished, doesn’t it look wonderful and it reminds me of my fabulous American journeys. I thought this would fit in with Erica’s Journey theme over at Art Journal Journey. I hope you like the results too.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this notice board:

  • Metal wall art sign
  • Faber-Castell Big Brush marker (Sanguine 188)
  • Paper bags
  • PVA
10 thoughts on “American Journey Notice Board

  1. Love this piece, you are another unstoppable one like Patty, working away till the last minute – GREAT!! Thanks for joining us again at AJJ, and hope to see you at the next challenge starting tomorrow. Hugs, Valerie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Valerie, that’s very kind of you! I’m looking forward to the next challenge, can’t wait :-). I also wanted to say how much I love your art, I hope to be able to comment on your blog soon (for some reason my WordPress isn’t recognised) Thanks again J 🙂

      Like

  2. I think its great. What a nice way to remember journeys, and its very green too. I have all these bags left from trips and it would be so much fun to make a wall piece of them. otherwise they sit and I hate to throw them out. So you get an A+ not just for your idea but also for recycling too. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow– that is just a fantastic idea and I love how it turned out! Very inspiring .. I didn’t think about gluing paper onto metal yet..but why not?! Great! Thank you for linking it to AJJ – sorry that I didn’t visit until now – but I was a bit busy the last days!
    Hope you like our new theme “Maps” as well and you join us this month again with your super art!
    oxo Susi

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Susi, that’s very nice of you. I’m pleased to say that I can now comment on Blogger, my hubby sorted it out for me, he’s a star! So I’ll be able to connect easier 🙂
      Yes I’m definitely joining AJJ again this month, I’m currently creating a “Maps” themed page, so watch this space. Thanks again 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

