All Aboard

I am so excited to be a part of the challenge-blog over at Art Journal Journey. This month’s theme is ‘Journeys’ and has inspired my page. It’s called “All Aboard” and reminds me of journeys past and present with the old Art Deco images and newer map pieces.

All Aboard - Journeys Art Journal

The background was created using Distress Inks and a stripe stencil, it took me quite some time to build up the lines as I was alternating the colours and my stencil is fairly small. Next I added the postmark decoupage paper and the compass. I extended the lines of the compass with a charcoal Spectrum Aqua marker, so that they fan out across the page to give a contrast to all the horizontal stencil lines. The Art Deco images are rub-on transfers and the tags were stamped using Versafine ink. The map pieces were taken from a book that I rescued from a local charity shop and I used an old magazine to source the letter and postage stamp. The “All Aboard” tag finishes the look – I created it using a stamp, coloured with Spectrum Aqua markers and Distress Inks.

Inspiration

We have traveled to two of the destinations on this page – Paris and America. Although America is much further away and France is on our doorstep, we have journeyed to America on many more occasions than France. We have visited 25 of the 50 States, in fact we were visiting our 25th State, Maine, to see the fall colours on our 25th Wedding Anniversary, a memory which I cherish.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Tim Holtz Distress Ink (Peacock Feathers, Crushed Pistachio, Salty Ocean, Black Soot, Tea Dye)
  • Spectrum Aqua Artist’s Markers (Charcoal, Teal, Scarlet, Slate)
  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.1mm)
  • Sharpie Fine permanent maker (Black)
  • Versafine Ink (Onyx Black VF-82)
  • Ranger Claudine Hellmuth Studios 6x6inch stencil (Our Town HSC36920)
  • Papermania Urban Stamps 4x4inch (All Aboard – Tags PMA907178)
  • Royal & Langnickel Rub-on transfers (Travel Collage #ROY871 RUB-ON)
  • First Edition Deco Maché decoupage pages (D/M Postage FEDEC060)
  • Craft Sensations Design Pad 15x15cm (Beach House CR0292/GE)
  • The Works tags (24 Assorted Craft Tags)
  • Wilko 10metre paper twine
  • Liquitex Matte Gel Medium
  • The Range double-sided foam tape
  • The Range glue stick
  • Penguin Books Ltd 2007 – 2008 Pears Cyclopaedia
  • Magazine images
Art Journal Journey
10 thoughts on “All Aboard

    • Thank you. I’m happy I joined the challenge too, I was inspired by your journal pages of your journey to France and saw the link to AJJ on your posts. The U.S. is a wonderful place and I would recommend Maine, especially in the Fall season as the colours need to be seen to be believed, and there is plenty of other things to see and do as well 🙂

      Like

  1. I am so glad you joined us this month. I love your journal spread. This is a great page. Wow- you’ve sen a lot of the US. I love how you added all those travel images to your spread. Beautiful work and I hope you come back and join us again. 🙂 Erika

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

