Leap Year

I took my inspiration for this page from 2016 being a leap year and I certainly didn’t want to wait for 4 years for another opportunity to come along!

Leap Year - Art Journal Page

This page was really fun to do, as I researched what a Leap Year really is. As you can see, I included these facts on my page. The background was created using Spectrum Aqua markers and a script stamp by Kaisercraft. I used Timeless Collection paper again by Kaisercraft and the calendar I bought discounted locally. I added my leap year facts using rub on transfers and meanings from my trusty dictionary. To finish I stenciled black stars using texture paste, added my stamped compass image and outlined elements using black and white fine line markers. I love the vintage feel (which is fast becoming my go-to style).

PragueThis is the astronomical clock in Prague, Czech Republic which I took whilst there on a winter break, Prague is so magical at Christmas time. The clock shows the current phase of the sun, moon, a calendar and which star sign we are in amongst other things. Not bad considering it dates back to 1410. While researching I discovered that the clock is stopped for one night to allow for the Leap Day.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

Here is a list of all the materials used to create this art journal page:

  • Spectrum Aqua Artist’s Markers (Teal, Slate, Tan, Charcoal)
  • Winsor & Newton white gesso
  • Ranger texture paste
  • Liquitex Artist Color acrylic paint (Ivory Black)
  • Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black)
  • Kaisercraft clear stamp (Script KACS752)
  • Kaisercraft Timeless Collection paper (Postmarks P853)
  • Letraset Transfer (Helvetica Bold Condensed 5mm RDC0251)
  • Winsor & Newton Matte Gel
  • The Range double-sided foam tape
  • Hobbycraft double-sided sticky tape
  • Uni Pin Fine Line marker (Black 0.1mm & 0.8mm)
  • Uniball Signo pen (White)
  • The Works British Birds Calendar 2016
  • Oxford University Press pocket dictionary
  • Unknown brand star stencil
2 thoughts on “Leap Year

Leave a Reply

